Inspiration | Paolo Roversi

On my fridge I keep a bundle of exhibition postcards and flyers. Not only because the images are visually pleasing but also to remind myself of what I’ve seen and liked. Paolo Roversi’s exhibition however was the stand out. I visited the exhibit at The Wapping Project in London over a month ago after a few failed attempt to make it there (say hello to walking in the rain at closing time to the wrong gallery space), I knew it has on my hit list. Roversi’s work is unlike any photographic artist’s work I have ever encountered. It is timeless but still innovative, has a beauty that replica’s Renaissance paintings, yet is still relevant to fashion today. I can never pinpoint what inspires me most. I love that his work has a style that follows throughout editorials and personal work, as well as the quality of colours and the contrast between soft and sharp.
Over the past few days I have once again fallen in love with Roversi’s body of work, discovering new imagery (or old that I had yet to seen). I hope sharing them with you will help inspire you too.

For more images I love follow my Pinterest!

First Image – © Rebecca Hawkes 2012

Leave a Reply

