Christmas Gift | Rebecca Hawkes Branding

Homemade gifts

Homemade gifts

Hello and Hei! I am once again coming to you from a form of transport, this time I am writing to you from the air, somewhere over the sea between London and Oslo. I am on a flight that has wifi (hurrah!) BUT it is a busy flight and I think someone must be sucking it all up as it certainly sucks (boo!).

So as you might gather, I have been really busy getting everything done before Christmas. Travelling across the country and to other countries. I have however found time (or made time) to create little gifts for my British friends and colleagues with a distinct Norwegian feel.

Homemade gift & labels

I always love making up personal gifts for birthdays and holidays, as I think about what I would appreciate as a present and it never is, ‘how much money was spent’ but instead rests on the joyful feeling of having someone think of me. I got the idea for Norwegian themed gifts as a little tester of international Christmas dishes and drinks (one gifted to a Danish friend who I knew would appreciate a taste of Scandinavian home- Hi Anna!). I bought bottles from Scandinavian store Granit (love this place for basics in all black and white shades) and grabbed some Aquavit from duty free on the way over and set to work. I made Pepperkake from scratch and as a Graphics, I only saw fit to brand the packaging. If I had my own range this is how it would look! I also included under my graphics details of the product and on food gifts where ingredients need to be added, I included an ‘add’ list and recipe. For my Vegan Christmas Brownies I included all the dry ingredients with the only additions being water, vegetable oil and vanilla extract. Almost instant brownies! Who wouldn’t want that for Christmas?

Homemade gift & labels

4 thoughts on “Christmas Gift | Rebecca Hawkes Branding

  1. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Cheers!

    • Hi Law Firm, Firstly I have actually moved this blog over to http://www.diary.rebeccahawkes.co.uk if you’d like to continue reading! Secondly thank you for your comment. I actually find that when I sit down to write a blog post my mind is scattered and I usually just write what pops into my head. I usually rely on imagery as I am not too confident in my own writing ability. I will say however that by having a blog it has helped a lot by getting into the practice of writing in my own voice rather than for essays or critical writing.
      I hope to see you over at my new domain!
      Best
      Rebecca

Leave a Reply

